Heat Advisory

Issued by the National Weather Service
For Hillsdale County, Michigan
HEAT ADVISORY FROM 11AM EDT SUN UNTIL 8PM EDT SUN …HEAT ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ SUNDAY… THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A HEAT ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ SUNDAY. HAZARDOUS WEATHER… * HIGH TEMPERATURES IN THE MIDDLE 90S ARE EXPECTED SUNDAY. * PEAK HEAT INDICES ARE EXPECTED TO BE AROUND 100 FROM EARLY AFTERNOON INTO EARLY EVENING. IMPACTS… * THE HEAT WILL LEAD TO HAZARDOUS CONDITIONS PARTICULARLY FOR THE ELDERLY AND THOSE WITH PREEXISTING HEALTH CONDITIONS. * KEEP IN MIND THAT HEAT INDICES ARE IN AREAS WITH AT LEAST SOME SHADING. PEOPLE IN FULL SUNSHINE COULD EXPERIENCE HEAT INDICES SEVERAL DEGREES WARMER. PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS… A HEAT ADVISORY MEANS THAT A PERIOD OF HOT TEMPERATURES IS EXPECTED. THE COMBINATION OF HOT TEMPERATURES AND HIGH HUMIDITY WILL COMBINE TO CREATE A SITUATION IN WHICH HEAT ILLNESSES ARE POSSIBLE. DRINK PLENTY OF FLUIDS…STAY IN AN AIR-CONDITIONED ROOM…STAY OUT OF THE SUN…AND CHECK UP ON RELATIVES AND NEIGHBORS. TEMPERATURES INSIDE A VEHICLE CAN BE SIGNIFICANTLY HIGHER THAN OUTSIDE, EVEN WITH WINDOWS OPEN. MAKE SURE NOT TO LEAVE CHILDREN OR ANIMALS IN THE VEHICLE AS THEY CAN BE QUICKLY OVERCOME BY THE HEAT.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s